Wantrepreneur

At the end of the day, the king lives, sleeps and eats in the same place all day every day, protected. The substance of your life is through experience and here the King is compromised.

You have a degree, a nice job and a steady routine. You know exactly at what minute you have to head out the door to make it to work in time. Your stomach tells you exactly when your scheduled lunch time begins and you put up with enough BS in one day that you’re sure it can’t be this bad the rest of the week. You work “for the man” and each thing you do is on his time.

But how hard would it be to create your own timeline? Build your own small or large empire? Wait… but you do have that degree you shouldn’t throw away annnnnd you do have that steady and stable job. What a conundrum!

I type this for myself. Sometimes you just have to “ignore the audience” and write for yourself. I admit it: My name is Denise and I am a Wantrepreneur. I certainly feel like a “junky” just searching for the ideas and the next entrepreneur/business building podcast. It takes up about 30% of my daily thoughts. I have lists of written ideas, notes and reminders. But what gives? 

It’s been apparent to me that the best way to do this is to be what’s called a “chicken entrepreneur.” Or, to have a “side hustle” while still working your normal job. This is doable right? But the important thing here is to dive into a side hustle that fulfills you. I need this to be something that I enjoy doing because it should be something you look forward to and doesn’t feel like work. It may not make as much money as it could, but for sanity sake… it should be yours… and it should feel good. The reason this appeals to me so much is because it gives you a sense of fulfillment when you create something to provide to an audience that you know is helping – that you know it making a difference.

Now, one could say that “working for the man” could also be rewarding. In fact, I do feel great about the work I do. But do you ever feel a bit limited? Do you ever feel like you could do MORE? I’m in a position now at work where there are no other moves to make upward. There simply is no ladder rung to strive for. It’s a bit disheartening.

I would like to reach out to any other wantrepreneurs and open a door for discussion. Even if it seems like mere dreaming. I’d like to list a few of the podcasts I listen to that inspire me daily on the subject (that I’m sure tons of others would think are geeky and dry):

SMART PASSIVE INCOME – Pat Flynn

LAUNCH GROW JOY – Andreea Ayers

THE SIDE HUSTLE SHOW – Nick Loper

ENTRELEADERSHIP – Dave Ramsey and Ken Coleman

RADICAL PERSONAL FINANCE – Joshua Sheets (financial but highly entrepreneur heavy)

That’s all for now! Happy dreaming!

Off to work I go… two minutes past when I’d normally leave! 😉

Leave a Reply

