The Perfect Day.

Hi there! D&T here!

I’m so excited to have Tony be a guest blogger today, in introducing our next podcast! THIS was such a fun one! (Listen to the podcast now on Libsyn!) You can also find it on your Podcast App/itunes @ meaningful childless life.

We got this idea from Mike Bledsoe (Barbell Shrugged Podcast) and Kent Clothier. So here’s the premise: Write out the details of which create YOUR perfect day! Without any financial or location restrictions, how do you see yourself spending the day from wake up to bedtime? It helps (and is most fun) to be as detailed as possible. You’ll quickly come to realize that it’s a considerably tough exercise! I found that starting with the first question… Where does this perfect day take place?… to be tremendously hard.

So we thought it would be fun to go about this exercise individually, and then share them for the first time to each other on the podcast! Cool! I should add, that this exercise is meant to get you thinking in terms of your future you. In other words… this day you come up with, is something that you should be striving for and/or something you can pull ideas from! So without further ado, let’s introduce our next podcast with Tony’s essay style guest-post!

 


The Perfect Day

What is it? What should it be? So farfetched that it is ridiculous, and unobtainable? Or something you can reach out and touch? Would you celebrate New Year’s in all four time zones flying on a private jet to some swank roof top party? Or would you have a fire pit burning and 4 or 5 of your closest friends and family? Is it a beach landscape, mountains, how about a desolate desert with the only hopes of color coming in the form of an oasis? What is more important; the company you keep, or where you keep your company?
I have had many great days in my life. Days that resulted in those memories being seared into my mind like grill marks on an overpriced steak. As I prod the basement levels of my mind to find those memories, I am seeing a pattern form. They were simple. There was nothing overly special, or incredible about them. At least not to the naked eye. A few minutes have passed since my last keystroke. A little more digging. A lot of cobwebs in here. As I am reaching the sub-levels I am making the same realization as before; simplicity.
You may be wondering why I am digging through years of memories just to create a fictional ‘perfect day’. Shouldn’t it be easy? A day at the beach if you will. Ha, see what I did there? Here is something way too deep to be included in an exercise that should be fun and carefree. It is a lesson I learned after Uncle Sam and I signed our divorce paperwork.
WARNING WARNING – We’re getting off track!!
It took me a while to figure out life after the military, and the one of the most difficult things to accept was that I now had the freedom of choice. Let me retype that; THE FREEDOM OF CHOICE!!!!!!! Not that you don’t make choices in the military, but let’s face it, many of them are made for you. Civilian life provides you with almost unlimited choices.
BACK ON TRACK!!
So back at it. The reason why this is challenging (for me at least) is that once again, I have unlimited choices. I go back to my first paragraph (beach, mountains or desert?). And that is just one choice. Let’s not forget the who, what, when, why, how we still have to figure out. Am I making this too complicated? Probably. Maybe it is just the way my mind works.
I am also realizing that you may learn a thing or two about yourself in this exercise. For example; are you the type of person who will queue up memories or your own personal happiness, or achievements? Or perhaps a time when someone very close to you was happy? For you parents out there, do your happiest memories include your children? Or do you include a time in your life before children were present? Would your perfect day include your children, or perhaps just you and your spouse? And let me be perfectly clear here, I am NOT trying to judge anyone, or call anyone self-centered or anything crazy like that. I missed the day they were giving out PhD’s in Psychology, so no judgment or analysis happening here. Well not true, I am analyzing myself. But I don’t think I can offend anyone by doing that.
What a mind fuck this is. I never in a million years envisioned myself struggling to put together a rock star day to have. I think the reason I am having such a problem is that I have probed opposite ends of the spectrum throughout my life. I have learned to live under high stress with adrenaline pumping, but also with extreme calm, and boredom that would drive a Tibetan monk insane. I love skydiving, but I also love sitting on the couch and running through the Lord of the Rings trilogy. I love being surrounded by family and friends, but also love a quiet day to myself.
I think in the end I am realizing a perfect day is more of a feeling, rather than something tangible. We’ll see what D thinks of that answer. Perhaps I’ll have a backup plan when we record our episode and reveal our answers to each other. Hmmmmm skydive in Dubai for breakfast, surf North Shore for lunch, a remote restaurant along a fjord in Norway for dinner, riding a horse in Australia’s outback to watch the sunset, and fall asleep on the Tran Siberian railway……..

Leave a Reply

